Leave a comment

Favorite Valentine Day Movies and Books


First of all, wish you all a happy Valentine’s day/belated wishes depending on which part of the world you live in.

Wish you all a happy Valentine’s Day

I have read some blog posts about people’s favorite Valentine Day reads and thought I’d like to list my favorites too…

The only thing is I can think of more movies that I like to watch than books I like to read. My husband is not a big reader, so when I read it is a solitary activity but movies are different. We can both get to watch together and enjoy a shared experience. That is of course, if we both enjoy the same type of movies (not always the case).

Anyways, here is a list of my top 3 romantic (to me) movies that I love to watch over and over…

Life is Beautiful – Such a wonderful movie and so full of love – romantic as well as paternal.
Jerry Maguire – I think Tom Cruise looked his best in this movie, plus that awww-inducing cutie be-spectacled little boy and Renee Zellweger…all at the top of their game. Love it always.
Bridget Jones’s Diary – Probably the only conventional romcom that I like/let alone love. Probably because I adored the book so very much. All the lead actors are great, and Hugh Grant is especially great as the sleazy boss. Am I the only one who thinks he makes a better sleaze ball than a romantic lead?
When it comes to romance in books, it is much harder for me to create a top 3. Mainly because I tend to like romance novels based on the author’s writing style. So, here I list my top 3 romantic authors.

Georgette Heyer – I love how she does historical romance with massive doses of humor and satirical commentary and minus the bosom-heaving sex scenes.
Jane Austen – For the same reasons as above. Just wish she had written more books though.
Victoria Holt – Because I like romance with a spice of mystery and danger. Her books are standard gothic romances.
I have to add that Gone with the Wind – the book and the movie are one of my all-time favorites.

What are your favorite romantic books/authors and movies?

What romantic books/movies do you loathe? For me, the answer is easy.

In books, I hate Barbara Cartland, and books in which rape plays any sort of part.

In movies, pretty much any standard Hollywood/Bollywood fare that is released during Valentine’s Day time period, and pretty much any romantic movie starring Sandra Bullock/Jennifer Aniston/Jennifer Garner.

Leave a Reply

